• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Launch Party!

Welcome to the official launch of Allison is Active!  This summer’s test run was a successful “soft opening” to see if I could get everything set up and get started.  I knew I would have to take about six weeks off after that to focus on starting the school year (I teach middle school!) and had planned to launch October 1.  This week, I’ve been thinking more and more about blogging and decided to start today.

What’s up in my life?

  • We are permanently settled into our new house in Sarasota!  It’s a historic bungalow so there are some interesting challenges (first discover: do not make toast with both air conditioners on!) but I love it.
  • I am six weeks into the school year at my new school and loving it!
  • I decided that it was impossible to live without cheerleading and started a program at my school!
  • I’m sticking to healthy eating, including packing all my snacks for work every day.
  • My training has been a bit off while I adjust to my new schedule, but I have been sticking with it.  The only long run I missed was the week I had a head cold!
  • I joined a Galloway half marathon training program to meet new runners and get ready for the Disney Princess Half Marathon.  I wasn’t sure about it at first, but now I love it!

Now that I’m settled in at the house, have working Internet, have a functional camera, and have a schedule conducive to blogging, I’m here to stay!

Up next:  a post about my running essentials!

