• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Saturday’s Run

Tonight’s dinner included:

  • A bowl of Whole Foods 365 organic mac and cheese mixed with steamed broccoli
  • Vanilla ice cream with Reese’s pieces

I wasn’t too hungry after snacking at cheerleading tryouts, but tried to eat something healthy to make up for my salt and vinegar potato chips!

Long run plans…

I got an e-mail today from my Galloway group leader at Sarasota’s Fleet Feet Sportswe are going five miles on Saturday, which means we run over the bridge!

sarasota_2

Running over the Ringling Bridge is one of my favorite runs – the hill is VERY long so it is extremely challenging, but you feel an amazing sense of accomplishment at the top.  Plus, the view is beautiful!

The longest I have ever run is from my house, over the bridge, to St. Armand’s circle, which is six miles.  I haven’t run the bridge in three weeks, so I am really looking forward to it.

Plus, it’s my last long run before Disney’s Race for the Taste on October 11!

What’s your favorite long run route?  (The Ringling Bridge to St. Armand’s and South Shore Drive in my hometown, Holland, Michigan, are my faves!)

