• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Tucked In

What a crazy Friday at work!  Actually it seems like all my Fridays are crazy – we have shortened classes because of club time, and I am co-adviser of the yearbook club.  The short classes make for a rushed day, and yearbook always brings a new adventure!

Next Friday, though, I’ll be leaving early to head to Orlando!  We’ll be at Disney all weekend for Race for the Taste! I am so excited to run my first 10k!

More about this route later…

Eats for the day:

  • On Fridays I treat myself to Starbucks, but usually still have a nutritious breakfast.  I was out of peanut butter today, so I got food at the Bux too for a real treat!  I had a decaf tall one pump pumpkin spice nonfat latte.  (Caffeine gives me headaches.)  I also had pumpkin loaf.  I worked at Starbucks, so I know how bad all the pumpkin stuff is for you! But, it’s so good that I usually have it once or twice each fall.
  • Morning snack:  Z-bar
  • Lunch:  I wasn’t hungry for my whole lunch!  I just had beef stew and a biscuit.  I packed pineapple, too, but didn’t eat it.
  • Afternoon snack:  None!  I brought leftover mac and cheese and red peppers but never got hungry.
  • Dinner:  Chili from Morton’s Gourmet Market with blue corn chips.  Morton’s is my favorite place to grab “takeout” on Fridays.  I picked up veggies there, too: lettuce, corn on the cob, baby carrots, broccoli, and potatoes.

Later tonight, I definitely plan to snack on some more pineapple because it is SO good.  I bought more broccoli and carrots today for snacking, too.

Now I’m tucked in for the night!  I plan to do a lot of reading.  For the weekend, I have…

sorcerers_stone

Because I re-read these books all the time and started again this week!

breakingdawnbookRe-reading this series, too… (I told you I read YA books all the time!)

budget-travel-magazineThe new issue’s cover story is about Ireland!

and…

mshalloweenHalloween is one of my favorite holidays, so I couldn’t resist this at the bookstore!

I’m off to read and relax before my 5-mile run tomorrow!

What are your favorite weekend reads?

