• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Made It!

My 5-mile run was so successful that it was unintentionally turned into a 6-mile run! My pace group was feeling good at the 2.5 mile mark, so we ran a bit more before heading back over the bridge.

I felt great the whole time and remembered to sip my water and eat my GU Chomps, too.  Whereas I liked the chewy consistency better than that of straight up GU, the orange flavor was overpowering. I like Luna Moons best, but GU has the sodium and potassium one needs during a long run!

As mentioned before, I am not the speediest runner.  On a long run, I keep between a 12:30 and 13:00 pace.  On shorter runs (45 minutes or less), my pace is usually between 11:00 and 12:00.  This is fine with me, and my theory is that I would rather have fun and cross the finish line feeling strong with a smile on my face than stress myself over times and get injured. My 6 miles this morning took about 1:20, but I finished strong and feel great!

After the run, I woke up the Husband and we headed to First Watch, which is a Florida breakfast/lunch restaurant.  They have a menu full of healthy choices!.  I was pretty hungry, so I ordered oatmeal with pecans, bananas, and brown sugar.  (Oatmeal is seriously my favorite breakfast food.)  The oatmeal came with an English muffin, which I polished off, and I also drank a lot of water at breakfast.

At home, I sat in the bath for a bit, then read and talked to my mom on the phone.  I ate a few blue corn chips and salsa while making lunch, and then had lunch:  a baked potato, steamed broccoli, and some cheese sauce I whipped up on the stove.  I’ll probably snack on some pineapple in a bit, too.

I’m headed out for errands this afternoon, and we are going out with the Husband’s brother tonight because he is visiting Sarasota for work! (This is the reason for the fruit-and-veggie-packed lunch and snacking; I will probably eat bar food tonight!)

