• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Mmm, Italian…

I got my wish today and spent plenty of time relaxing and reading!  The Husband went to a Rays game with his brother and two friends, so I had the house to myself.

Before my errands, I snacked on a Z-bar, which are actually Clif bars for kids.  Lunch was leftover Whole Foods mac and cheese, followed by snacking on pineapple throughout the afternoon.  Later, I had blue corn chips and salsa while waiting for the Husband.

Because my brother-in-law is in town, we did another dinner out tonight.  This time, we ate at a local Italian place, Caragiulos. I had two pieces of bread, a salad, half my order of spaghetti and one meatball, and a bunch of asparagus.  As a result, I’m in a bit of a food coma right now, but it was worth it!  Caragiulos was especially nice tonight because they had a live classical guitar player to add to the ambiance.  The Husband and brother-in-law both ordered pizzas, and the Husband also had a bowl of Italian wedding soup.  This was our second trip to Caragiulos, and it’s definitely becoming one of our “regular” places!

Tomorrow’s run is only 30 minutes, so I plan to use it like a mini speed session.  I haven’t done an evening run since school started, but I’m going to try it tomorrow.  This means I’ll need to pack healthy snacks for work so I’m not drained of energy at the end of the day!  I am thinking broccoli and carrots, pineapple, and a Z-bar.

What are your favorite healthy, packable snacks?

