• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Best Intentions

My day started out so well and just went downhill from there!

This morning I was excited to open a new jar of Whole Foods peanut brand peanut butter.  I’ve had Publix natural peanut butter the last few weeks, but decided I liked Whole Foods better.  So, my peanut butter on whole wheat toast was much tastier than usual!

Morning snack involved another new treat: a Kashi TLC bar in dark chocolate coconut, which appears to be a new flavor!

GEDC1502

I have tried TLC bars before and haven’t been happy with the flavor or consistency.  However, this bar was like eating a crunchy Mounds bar – SO good! I’m glad I have a whole box.

Lunch was leftover spaghetti and asparagus (not pictured because I dug into it right away before remembering a picture!) with raw broccoli, carrots, and ranch dip.

GEDC1503

(Yes, that’s my desk.  I have nowhere to eat other than my desk, but I at least try to take a break from work.  As a teacher, though, any chance I get to actually sit at my desk, I usually try to do something that I couldn’t do while teaching!)

I ate my afternoon snack during a cheerleading coaches mini-strategizing session, so no picture.  BUT, it included Kashi GoLean Crunch and Stonyfield strawberry yogurt.

One of those days…

I am having one of those days where you feel like your best efforts are backfiring on you.  Coaching cheerleading is something I do because it is fun and has a positive effect on girls at my school, but I feel like my efforts to do good are being dumped on.

Do you ever feel like your best efforts to do something positive turn out horribly negative?  How do you deal with that feeling? For me, I am trying to stand my ground and be diplomatic and professional because I know in my heart I have done the best thing!

