• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Disney’s Race for the Taste Re-cap

Hello, blog readers!  I’m back after a fun and exhausting weekend in Disney World!

Right now, I’m going to re-cap Race for the Taste, and later, I’ll write about everything fun we did and everything yummy we ate this weekend.

RFTT start time was at 7:00 A.M. on Sunday, so I rolled out of bed at Caribbean Beach Resort at 5:00 for my first ever 10k!

GEDC16305:20 A.M. and I am ready to race!!

My goal was to be on the resort shuttle to the race bus by about 5:40 so I could be at the start line by 6:15.  I have never done the resort buses to the race before, but from what my research told me, this timeline would be accurate.  And it was!

In the hotel room, I brushed my teeth, washed my face, and got dressed for the run.  I also sucked down about 10 ounces of water and ate 1/2 a carrot cake Clif bar.  In my skirt pocket, I packed a GU, a Clif shot as back up, and my Burt’s Bees chapstick.  (Seriously, I cannot run without chapstick.)  I forgot my water belt in Sarasota, but knew I could pack my pockets and just utilize the water stops.

I made the buses with time to spare and arrived plenty early at the start line.  After standing in line for the port-a-potties, I met up with online friends from Running of the Ears and hung out with them until the start.  During this time, I drank some more water.  It was a humid morning, and although I am used to training in Florida heat, it would suck to be dehydrated during a race.

The race was AWESOME!  It wound from Wide World of Sports, through Hollywood Studios, along the boardwalk resort area, and all the way through Epcot including the World Showcase.  What a great route!  I got a bit sentimental during the Epcot portion because that is where I ran my first race ever.  There were many Disney cast members along the route shouting encouragement and giving high-fives.  I love the spirit of Disney races!

In Hollywood Studios, after 40 minutes of running, I ate a GU.  Well, it did not agree with my stomach even though I took a four-minute walk break after eating it! My tummy was very upset during the entire boardwalk portion of the race, but felt better by Epcot.  I took another four minute walk break at the boardwalk to try and let my GU digest, which was smart because I then had energy to give it my all in Epcot!

GEDC1632The awkward one in the blue top and black skirt is me… Why can’t I look good when running?!

GEDC1633

Official race results aren’t online yet, but my watch said about 1:22 when I crossed the finish line.  This was exactly what I had planned and I am SO happy with my time.  I know I’m a slow runner, but I had a wonderful time and crossed the finish line feeling strong with a HUGE smile on my face.  To me, this is all that matters.

GEDC1634

Here’s a close-up of the medal:

GEDC1636

I had no way to carry my camera while running (it wouldn’t fit in my water belt, either…) so I have no pictures, from the course, but here’s a video from YouTube made by a runner obviously much faster than me!

You can also go read about Meghann’s RFTT experience, which was her boyfriend’s first 10k!

I couldn’t ask for a better first 10k!  It’s disappointing that Disney will not have Race for the Taste next year, because I really enjoyed this race.  However, I am interested to see what they come up with for a fall race in 2010!

Check in later for all the info about the rest of our weekend! (Hint: my eating and drinking were far from healthy, but were certainly tasty!)

