• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Sooo Much Food at Roy’s!

I thought I might write this last night, but I crashed at 9:00 after our crazy weekend.  Here’s the promised recap of our weekend activities and eats!

Friday we took off for WDW around 3:30 and went straight to Wide World of Sports for packet pick-up.

GEDC1565

I love our suitcases – the whole set was a wedding gift from my parents.

GEDC1568

I am a super-crazy vacation organizer.  The Husband parents have family friends who refer to trip over-planners as “Team Smart” and people who go with the flow on trips as “Team Fun.”

GEDC1572

The Husband referred to this itinerary as my “official application for Team Smart”:

GEDC1573

The packet pick-up wasn’t very exciting because there wasn’t a whole expo like there was for the Princess 1/2 Marathon.  I did, however, try on a shirt which I ended up buying:

GEDC1580(The swag bag for this race included a pint glass instead of a shirt, but I still wanted a shirt!)

We then checked in to Disney’s Caribbean Beach resort, checked out our room, and promptly settled by the pool with some drinks.

GEDC1590You can see my strawberry mango concoction in the foreground, and the Husband with his margarita in the background.  (Yes, he’s sporting a Pabst Blue Ribbon shirt.  Sigh.)

GEDC1585

That’s our building at CBR, Aruba.  I must say, I really loved this resort!  I have never stayed at a Disney moderate resort before, only deluxe and value resorts, and I was so happy with CBR.  The room was perfect and we really enjoyed the huge pool, beach, and the food options on-site.

As we were leaving CBR on Friday to go to Target, we were trying to decided where to eat.  Well, during our Central Florida years, the Husband worked at Roy’s Orlando.  We LOVE Roy’s, but didn’t think until eating there until we were in the car!  He made the suggestion, and I of course agreed.

We intended to have a quick meal with just entrees, but the staff and managers all love Mike and sent out an appetizer as soon as we got there.  (I forgot the picture!)  I also munched on a LOT of edamame!

GEDC1592

For dinner, I ordered the braised short ribs with garlic broccolini and mashed potatoes:

GEDC1595

Husband had a sushi roll:

GEDC1596

We were, by that point, totally stuffed, but our server was a good friend of Mike’s and brought out dessert even though we didn’t order any it!  The platter included creme brulee and pumpkin mousse.

GEDC1597

I don’t like creme brulee, but this pumpkin mousse was to die for!  Seriously it was like a lighter, fluffier pumpkin pie.  I could only manage a few bites because I was so stuffed, but the Husband and I agreed that I need to figure out how to make this for Thanksgiving.   If you live near a Roy’s, go order this soon!

So, our Friday dinner turned out to be a lot more exciting than we had originally planned, but I had a wonderful time at Roy’s and the food was amazing, as always.

Up next:  Kona Cafe and the main meal event of the weekend – dinner at the Yachtsman Steakhouse, our favorite Disney restaurant!

2 Responses

  1. I am sorry you apparently inherited that “scripting-out every moment of the vacataion” gene from me.

    However, there is hope. I finally learned to just turn it off and go with the flow about 5 years ago.

    Sure, I now often forget underwear and tothpaste, but I do relax a lot more.

    dad

  2. I totally forgot underwear this weekend!! That’s why we went to Target on Friday! It was hilarious.

Comments are closed.

