• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Recovery Run

Good morning!

Last night, I laid out all my stuff for my run.

GEDC1648

I get up pretty early to run (5:00 A.M.) and hate to stumble around in the dark looking for stuff.  Also, if I do that, I tend to wake up the Husband and he gets a bit grouchy.  🙂  So, I put everything I’ll need out in the morning (shoes, socks, sports bra, running capris, top, watch, GU chomps, and mp3 player) the night before.

I don’t have a GPS, so I map my runs using Gmap Pedometer.   Here are the stats for this morning’s run:

  • Warm up:  2 minute walk at an increasing pace
  • Run:  32 minutes (run 2/walk 1, except I ran the last four minutes).
  • Run distance:  2.4 miles
  • Cool down:  4 minute walk at a moderate pace

The goal for this run was a slow recovery run so I’d be ready for 6 miles this weekend.  I feel like I accomplished that!

I’m off to shower, get ready, and much on some peanut butter toast on the way to work!  Have a great day!

