• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Oatmeal for Brinner

Last night, I had a great meal we like to call brinner – breakfast for dinner!  Although it wasn’t technically brinner in my eyes, because I feel oatmeal is good for any meal of the day! Or a snack, for that matter…

I read a lot of healthy living blogs, and most people seem divided on the subject of oatmeal.  Me, I am definitely on the “Oatmeal is Awesome” side of things!  It’s healthy, it’s filling, and you can mix in whatever you want to add flavor and texture!  I seriously ate oatmeal four days a week growing up in West Michigan where it gets COLD in the winter.

Here are my main ingredients:

GEDC1652

Publix organic old fashioned oatmeal, Craisins, and some light brown sugar.  I planned to mix all these together in a pot.

Oh yeah, we have no microwave (due to space and old-house-fuse problems), so I make oatmeal the old fashioned way:

GEDC1656

It takes a little longer, but it tastes even better than microwaved oatmeal, I think.  🙂

When I put it in a bowl, my oatmeal just looked lonely and I decided to dig around the kitchen for some additional toppings.  I found them in my basket of baking ingredients!

GEDC1657

Ta-da!  By the end of the process, my yummy bowl of oatmeal ended up including:

  • 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/2 cup of old fashioned oats
  • 2 tbs. brown sugar
  • 1 small handful Craisins
  • 1 small handful slivered almonds
  • 1 small handful coconut

(I’m not all that into measuring.  I tend to do it Rachael Ray-style with the palm of my hand!)  This oatmeal was amazing.  The coconuts and brown sugar added sweetness, while the Craisins added flavor and the almonds added crunch.  I am thinking about packing all these ingredients for lunch today, too!

How do you weigh in on the oatmeal argument?  Do you love it, hate it, eat it because you have to?  Also, what are your favorite oatmeal ingredients and toppings? (I love bananas in my oatmeal, and I am thinking of a concoction with apples and cinnamon in the future…)

