• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Serious Dilemma

I am extremely lucky to have a husband who enjoys cooking and is an excellent cook!  If I were in charge of most weeknight suppers, I would either:

  • Make things on Sunday that could be reheated all week (roasts, stews, casseroles).  I do this sometimes, but not often.  I did it more often before I lived with the Husband!
  • Make very simple things on weeknights like steamed veggies, baked potatoes, soup, sandwiches, and salad.  When I am in charge of cooking on weeknights, this is generally what we get!

The husband, on the other hand, works in the neighborhood and can just pop in during the afternoon to put a chicken in to roast, which is what he did yesterday!  He also made roasted potatoes, which totally makes for one of my favorite dinners!

GEDC1668

GEDC1670

It’s more than it looks like – our dinner plates are really big!  I actually ended up with a second helping of potatoes because I love them so much.  They were just Yukon gold potatoes diced, seasoned, and roasted.

Okay, everyone, here is my dilemma:

I can’t go to my 6-mile run with the Galloway group on Saturday morning.  It’s scheduled for 6:45 AM and I have to leave here at 8:00 AM for a work conference in St. Pete.  Obviously, I won’t be able to run with the group, but I still want/need to run a 6-miler this weekend!  The question is…

  • Do I get up at 5:00 AM on Saturday and get the run done before my all-day teacher conference?  Or,
  • Do I do the run on Sunday morning?

I am leaning toward Saturday because then it’ll be done, I can sleep in on Sunday, and I have Sunday to recover.  However, I don’t want to be sore and tired at my work conference on Saturday – especially since I am sitting all day, I could become really stiff?

What do you think?

