• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Starbucks Friday!

I feel like I say this every Friday, but I’ll say it again: work was crazy today! I think I feel that way because our classes are each 15 minutes shorter on Fridays for “club time,” so I end up feeling rushed all day.  The end result is good, though, because all the kids get to participate in an activity they enjoy!  The club I advise is yearbook, but I’m not going to lie – my co-adviser does most of the work!

Anyway, this morning I indulged in my usual Friday treat and stopped at Starbucks!  I sipped on my usual hot drink – a grande 2 pump sugar-free vanilla non-fat latte – and literally scarfed down a pumpkin loaf! I was so hungry this morning, I probably should have eaten a “first breakfast” at home, too.

GEDC1672

It was a gray morning, so I had to turn the camera flash on and it looks like my cup is glowing!

GEDC1673

I love Starbucks, and until this past March, used to get a tall latte and a pastry every day for breakfast.  I’ve cut back in an effort to save money and eat healthier breakfasts, but I still like to have a Friday treat!

The rest of my day at work go so busy, I never took any food pictures.  😦  Here’s a rundown:

  • Morning snack:  1 cup Kashi GoLean Crunch with some Stonyfield organic yogurt in strawberry (I started my week of snack reform a day early!)
  • Lunch:  leftover roasted chicken and potatoes

I left work right away at 3:45 so I didn’t need an afternoon snack!

I’ll be out tonight because my brother-in-law is headed back to Michigan tomorrow and we’re going out to dinner with him tonight.  If the weather holds, we plan to hit the Rod and Reel Pier in Anna Maria Island, one of our favorite oceanfront restaurants.

Have a fabulous Friday!

