• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Pumpkin Patch

My day started promptly at 6:45 when I got up to accomplish some things around the house (dishes, bills) before heading to my work conference in St. Petersburg.

Before walking out the door, I made some pretty hearty oatmeal that I ate in my friend Kim’s car on the way to St. Pete.

GEDC1675

We’re out of Craisins!  I substituted dried apricots, which I chopped into small pieces. I didn’t like this as much as Craisins, so I plan to pick up some different dried fruit at Publix this weekend.

I went to Chipotle for lunch with some teachers from my school, but left my camera in Kim’s car! I didn’t get a picture of anything.  However, my tasty Chipotle lunch was a burrito bowl featuring:

  • Steak
  • Rice
  • Black beans
  • Onions
  • Corn salsa
  • Cheese
  • Lettuce

Sooooo good!

When I got home, I read for a bit and then the Husband and I headed to Fruitville Grove Farm to the pumpkin patch!

GEDC1677

The weather in Sarasota this afternoon is about 71 degrees, which is perfect pumpkin-buying weather!  The picture above shows my excitement over cooler weather and pumpkin-buying! Fall is my favorite season, even though my favorite fall thing, apple cider donuts, does not exist in Florida!

Fruitville Grove had a lot of fun activities for kids and families, like hayrides, pumpkin painting, and pony rides, but we were mainly interested in the farm stand:

GEDC1683

GEDC1681

I bought a little pumpkin for my desk at school:

GEDC1684

And we got a nice, big one for our front porch:

GEDC1689

I love how our porch looks right now with out fall wreath and our pumpkin!

GEDC1688

(On the far left, you can see our duplex-neighbor’s stuffed dracula that sits on his porch furniture.  Our whole house is decked out for fall!)  We picked up some squash, romaine lettuce and horseradish spread at the farm stand, too.

I still have to grocery shop today, and then we’re thinking of renting a movie.  And, in case you can’t tell, I am planning to run my 6-miler on Sunday morning.  As the Husband pointed out, it’ll be very cool here on Sunday morning, and I can probably sleep in a bit.  Nice!

