• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Pizza and Waffles

With the cold weather in Sarasota this weekend, Mike and I have gone into hibernation mode.  It’s wonderful!

Last night, we stayed home and ate a late dinner of California Pizza Kitchen pepperoni pizza.  Yum!  (We do not have a CPK in Sarasota, so it was the grocery store kind you bake yourself.  Still good!)  Today, I am supposed to run.  I woke up at 7:30 with a desire to sleep some more and then make waffles, which I totally did.  As the Husband pointed out, it’ll be cold and overcast all day, so it’s not like I have to get my run in before the temperature goes up, as is usually the case in Florida!

So, after I stayed snuggled up in my nice, warm bed for another hour, I hopped out of bed and made apple cinnamon waffles!

GEDC1694

These wondrous waffles included:

  • 2 cups Bisquik Heart Healthy mix
  • 1 1/3 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 grated honeycrisp apple
  • A dash of nutmeg
  • A bunch of cinnamon.  Probably a tablespoon?

Flavored waffles are my breakfast signature – I make several flavors that are delicious, including apple cinnamon, pumpkin spice, banana nut, chocolate chip pecan, and blueberry.  Apple cinnamon and pumpkin spice are my favorite!

Most of my day is going to be devoted to cleaning our house and doing laundry, but I’ll post about my eats and my run later tonight.

If you are having fabulous fall weather where you are, get out and enjoy it!

