• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Camera Troubles

I meant to post this morning, but I had a 7:30 meeting at school!  I didn’t want to get up super early to blog, so I had planned to write about last night’s dinner now.

But guess what?!  Because I need new camera batteries, my pictures of last night’s dinner disappeared! This is bad news.  The good news is, I bought new batteries today!  (The cheap Dutch part of me is still stretching out the old ones, though!)

However, it was a wonderful dinner.  I made whole wheat spaghetti with some tomato basil sauce.  (I like Newman’s the best, but Classico was on sale.  It wasn’t too bad!)  I also enjoyed a glass of Pinot Grigio, my favorite white wine!

This morning, I tried something new for breakfast – I paired some of the cheese I picked up yesterday with a croissant I also grabbed at Morton’s Gourmet Market:

GEDC1720

The croissant was buttery, flaky, and delicious!  The Tillamook cheddar worked really well with this pastry.  The Dubliner was a bit too salty for 7:00 A.M.!  I ended up eating it separately from the croissant because salty + buttery was not a good combo!  I felt very French while eating this breakfast – ooh la la! 🙂

This morning I snacked on some not-pictured pumpkin bread.  I ate while teaching, so had no chance for a picture.

Lunch was leftover spaghetti:

GEDC1723

I wasn’t in the mood for spaghetti, so this was kind of a blah lunch.  I packed carrots, too, but wasn’t hungry enough to eat them.  I did, however, manage to eat all the mini 3 Musketeers bar that our TEAMS coordinator dropped off as a treat!

GEDC1721

My team was observed today and Diana, our TEAMS coordinator, had wonderful things to say!  It’s nice to have someone give you kudos for all your hard work.  Especially if those kudos involve candy!  🙂

I’m going to snack on some cheese and crackers while our baked potatoes for dinner are in the oven! I also have to get my stuff laid out for Wednesday morning’s 30 minute run!

