• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

In the Habit

I was a total space cadet last night – I forgot to take a picture of dinner! Just when I think I’m getting in the habit of this food blogger thing, I make a major slip-up like that!  Oh well.  I get the hang of it soon enough!

Anyway, dinner was simple – I stuck some potatoes in the oven and steamed some broccoli. I had a whole medium-sized potato with butter and about a cup of steamed broccoli. While I cooked, I snacked on cheddar and Dubliner cheese with the yummy bread from Publix.  I was super hungry while waiting for the potatoes and the Husband to get home, so the bread and cheese was a perfect snack!

This morning, I was up at 5:00 AM for my short run.  I really, really didn’t want to get up this morning.  It wasn’t that I was tired, because I went to bed extra early.  I just wasn’t in the mood to run! I think even the best runners feel that way sometimes.  I forced myself out the door anyway and ended up having a decent run.  There was nothing remarkable about it, but I am glad I went.  That’s the thing about running – I never regret it afterwards!  I am always glad when I get my butt out to run!

I ran for 30:14, and according to Gmaps Pedometer, I covered 2.4 miles.  I generally do the same route every Wednesday!  I don’t always remember to mention this, but I do Galloway running.  On this run, as per usual, my intervals were run 2 minutes/walk 1 minute.  I used to do run 4/walk 1, but my Galloway half marathon training group does 2/1 intervals and I’ve found that it actually improves my speed!  The only thing is, you can’t slack off on your walk intervals – I have to keep up the walking pace, too!

No 7:30 meetings today, but I’m off to school to get a few things done anyway!

