• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Worn Out

I was feeling great after this morning’s run, but that didn’t last long!  I have just been feeling worn out all day.  This will be a short post so I can go watch reruns of The Office, read some Harry Potter, and go to sleep early!

I made another interesting weekday breakfast, but it’s not a meal you haven’t seen before!  Since my run was short, I had enough time to make oatmeal this morning!

GEDC1726

As usual, my oatmeal involved:

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup Publix organic oats
  • Handful of Craisins
  • 2 tsp. brown sugar
  • Handful of coconut
  • Handful of slivered almonds

My oatmeal was accompanied by my usual morning bottle of water.  Unless it’s  Starbucks Friday, or cold enough to brew tea at home, I always drink water in the morning.

GEDC1729

That’s my super beat up Project CHILD water bottle.  I only started teaching CHILD in August, so you can tell I use it every day.  🙂

My oatmeal was consumed in my car, as are all my breakfasts:

GEDC1733

There I am, in the dark, in my car at 7:12 A.M.!  I know it’s not the safest thing to eat while driving, but I do what I can to save time! (Like my new cheerleading coach sweatshirt?!  It was my gift to me!)

Morning snack was pumpkin bread again.  I know, I’m boring!

GEDC1734

Are you sick of seeing the same mug every day, too?  🙂  My graduating 8th graders signed it for me last year, so it’s really special.  Also, this Cooking Light pumpkin bread continues to be amazing – I will have to post the recipe!

Lunch was leftover spaghetti, again.  I am even getting bored with this – I may tell the Husband to eat the rest!

GEDC1735

I do like this whole wheat spaghetti, though, and the Classico sauce has an acceptable ingredient list that’s almost as good as homemade!

I had an excellent lunch surprise, too – my friend Karen at work made Rice Krispie treats and brought two just for me!

GEDC1736

You better believe these were gone in about two minutes!

Dinner was a roast that has been in our freezer for a while.  I got it out to thaw this weekend, and before work today, the Husband put it into the slow cooker with some veggies.  Yum!

GEDC1737

I love slow cooker meals because you can fit them to your schedule.  Today, the Husband set it on high when he left for work and switched it to keep warm when he was home for lunch.  My eyes were bigger than my stomach and I didn’t eat two of those potatoes – pot roast is an extremely filling meal!

I’m off to pour a glass of Pinot Grigio and do some serious relaxing!  See you tomorrow!

