• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Mini Pizzas and a Busy Saturday

It’s only 10:00 and I’ve already accomplished so much today!  Unfortunately, my to do list is still huge… but it will all get done!

First, let’s skip back to last night when I made mini pizzas!

My friend Stephania is a Pampered Chef rep and I always buy their $1 cookbook when she has parties.  This particular recipe from Pampered Chef is super fun and easy!

You cut rolled pizza dough into small circles and lay them out on a cookie sheet:

GEDC1761

Then you top them with a mixture that involves cream cheese (I use low fat and it still tastes fine), cheddar cheese, bacon, red pepper, and jalapeno:

GEDC1762

GEDC1764

GEDC1763

They’re so good!  The crust and the veggies are nice and crunchy, while the melted cheese is super gooey.

My plate, which also included Garden of Eatin’ yellow chips and some cheesy salsa:

GEDC1771

(I also went back for two more mini pizzas!)

I enjoyed my mini pizzas with a glass of Erath Pinot Grigio:

GEDC1765

The husband picked up this wine for me at Whole Foods recently because he knows I like white wines from Oregon.  I’m not very good at describing wines, but if you like Pinot Grigio from the Pacific Northwest, you will like this! 🙂

The Husband, meanwhile, enjoyed his pizza with a giant margarita in his new Detroit Tigers Tervis Tumbler:

GEDC1770

Tervis Tumblers are made in Venice, which is just south of Sarasota.  Those are peaches floating in his margarita, by the way – the Husband is very creative with mixed drinks!

Now, on to my run…

GEDC1774

6:30 A.M. and I am ready for my run!  (The sleeping Husband was not too happy with my use of indoor flash photography this morning…)

My 3-miler with the Galloway group went swimmingly!  I enjoyed chatting with a couple different girls, one of whom gave me info about the Sarasota Young Professionals, and the other of whom is a teacher and commiserated with me about parent problems at school.  That’s why I love my running group!  It was a slow an easy three miles or so – we’re never very exact – and the time was about 40:00.

After the run, I listened to a talk from an exercise and nutrition counselor about hydration and nutrition for running.  Some of her main points were:

  • Drink 64 ounces of water every day
  • Drink 6-8 ounces of water every 15 minutes or so on a run (about 20-24 ounces in an hour)
  • Heat or cold doesn’t really make a difference; you should always drink water on a run, no matter the weather
  • Don’t plan on water stops or drinking fountains – always carry your own hydratio
  • Fuel with 100 calories of carbohydrates for every hour you run, and choose the variety that works best for you (gels, chews, stuff that dissolves in water)
  • Eat some carbohydrates 90 minutes to 2 hours before a long run
  • Eat meals that involve a carbohydrate and a protein
  • Listen to your body and do what works for you!

A lot of her information was stuff I had already read in running books, but it’s always good to have information backed up by multiple sources!  It’s also good to hear it again because sometimes I forget.

When I got home, I fueled with peanut butter toast… (carbohydrates and protein!)

GEDC1775

… which I ate on my walk to the Downtown Sarasota Farmer’s Market!  I’ll be posting about that later today, once I check some more things off my to do list!

Good luck to everyone else on their weekend lists!  Hopefully your list involves some relaxing like mine does. 🙂

