• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Sarasota Downtown Farmer’s Market

After my run this morning, I headed to the Downtown Sarasota Farmer’s Market!

A little back story:  I am from Holland, Michigan, which has an amazing farmer’s market twice every week.  The city built a special area just for the farmer’s market, and on Wednesday and Saturday mornings, the parking is absolutely impossible.  That’s how popular it is!  So, I grew up with a great farmer’s market and always like to frequent them.  The Celebration farmer’s market was literally right outside our condo on Sunday mornings, and every week I went to Starbucks for coffee and a newspaper and then to the market!

Our farmer’s market in Sarasota is walking distance from our house, and is located in downtown:

GEDC1776

I’m a pretty big fan of downtown Sarasota – it has a wide variety of stores, businesses, and restaurants.  I am sad that my favorite, Sarasota News & Books, closed recently, though.  (That bookstore was a major reason why I loved my neighborhood!)

Anyway, the farmer’s market is pretty extensive and very busy.

GEDC1777

GEDC1779

It has everything from fruits and vegetables, to fresh seafood, to local artists, to baked goods, to a lady who sharpens kitchen knives!

GEDC1778

GEDC1781

GEDC1780

Even though we are new to Sarasota, whenever we walk around our neighborhood, we seem to run into people we know – and today was no exception!  It turns out one of the moms from my school is a baker who makes, among other things, adorable cookies, and has a booth at the market!  Her business is called Wired Whisk.

GEDC1783

GEDC1782

It turns out I have had her cookies before – our PTO gave us cookies from her bakery on the first day of school and they were delicious!  Today, her muffins were calling my name, so I purchased a pumpkin pecan one.  I’m saving it for tomorrow morning after my run.

Besides my muffin, here are the other goodies I picked up at the market:

  • a pineapple
  • a red onion
  • whole wheat pizza crust

After the market and a trip to the Women’s Exchange (furniture hunting), I came home, I whipped up a fresh salad with romaine lettuce, broccoli, carrots, and red peppers, which I dipped in Newman’s honey mustard dressing.  I also had some whole wheat bread with cheese!

GEDC1785

GEDC1786

I am now off the the library!

Do you know of a farmer’s market in your area?  How often do you visit?  If you don’t know of any, take some time to research and visit your local market this weekend – you’ll be glad you did!

2 Responses

  1. Allison,

    Thank you for the kind words and pictures that you posted on your blog about the Sarasota Farmers Market.

    Best Regards,

    Brian Glassmoyer
    Chairman
    Sarasota Farmers Market Board of Directors

  2. No problem, Brian! We’re glad we live in a city with a wonderful farmer’s market and I’m happy to help spread the word.

Comments are closed.

