• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Recipe of the Week: October 26

Welcome to the brand new Recipe of the Week series!

Each week, I’m going to try out a new recipe and post the results.

I’m not very creative in the kitchen, so these will mainly be recipes from cookbooks, websites, or other bloggers.

My very first Recipe of the Week is… Roasted Winter Vegetable Soup!  (Click the link to view the recipe at FoodNetwork.com)  This is a recipe from Ina Garten’s cookbook, Barefoot Contessa Family Style, which is one of three of her cookbooks that I own.  I wanted to try this soup because the color was beautiful, the consistency looked perfect, and it’s full of healthy winter veggies!

This recipe begins with dicing up 1 pound of carrots, 1 pound of parsnips, 1 large sweet potato, and 1 small butternut squash:

GEDC1803

GEDC1804

Then, you roast them with olive oil, salt, and pepper at 425 degrees for 25-35 minutes.

Now, these veggies would, at that point, make a tasty side dish for any winter menu!  But, I took the recipe one step further and made it into Ina’s soup.

This meant heating 6 cups of chicken stock and dumping in the veggies.

GEDC1807

At this point, one is supposed to transfer the stock and roasted vegetables to a food processor in two batches.  We lack a food processor, but definitely have a Magic Bullet, so I Bullet-ed the soup in about seven batches!

After I thinned the soup with a bit of water (I ran out of chicken stock) the consistency was thick and the color a rich gold.

GEDC1808

Now, I’ll tell you – I am not that big a fan of squash or sweet potatoes, but I was hoping I would like them in soup.  So, I poured myself a bowl with a few croutons for crunch.

GEDC1809

It was pretty good!  I simply loved the thick, creamy consistency.  It was an awesome soup for a cold winter’s evening.  (Which it is not here, where the high today was 84.  But still.)  The taste was kind of foreign and weird to me – I tasted mostly squash.  However, as the husband pointed out, squash is an acquired taste.

The main thing I like about this soup is that it’s so thick that it almost has the taste of a cream-based soup, but is much healthier because it is broth based and contains so many vegetables!

This soup is extremely filling, so even though the only thing I had on the side was a small grilled cheese sandwich, I didn’t finish my whole bowl!  I think that if I keep eating small servings of this soup all week, the taste will grow on me.

So – if you are looking for a hearty soup for a fall or winter evening, give Ina’s Roasted Winter Vegetable Soup a try!

