• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Pile on the Miles Challenge

Okay, I’m a terrible food blogger today, and I’m going to use being busy as an excuse once again!  Here’s a rundown of my food:

  • 2 slices whole wheat toast with Whole Foods peanut butter
  • Clif Kids Z-bar, chocolate chip
  • Leftover burrito bowl from Chipotle on Saturday (contents:  steak, rice, beans, corn salsa, cheese, lettuce)
  • Carrots and broccoli with ranch
  • Several Laffy Taffies
  • I’m sorry to say, but – a cheeseburger from Wendy’s while running errands.

It’s been a crazy day!

Running…

Last night, I ran a quick 2.75 miles to the top of the Ringling Bridge and back.  I’ve never run over the bridge at night, and the view was really pretty.

This month, I am participating in the Pile on the Miles challenge!  It’s being hosted by Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point and Bobbi at N Her Shoes.  I’ll be tracking my miles between November 1 and Thanksgiving Day to see how many miles I can “pile on” during the holiday season!

Last year, the group amassed 1,763.52 miles, and the winner logged 135.78 miles!  I don’t plan to win or even place, but I do plan on the challenge being a great motivator to get my training miles officially logged!  My personal goal is to log 45 miles for this challenge.

You don’t have to be a blogger to participate – just e-mail Caitlin at seebriderun@gmail.com and she’ll send you the link to the Google Spreadsheet!

I have sooo much to do around the house tonight, so I am off.  Happy Running!

4 Responses

  1. Hi Allison,

    I just found your blog because your name is 2 cells below mine in the POTM Google spreadsheet! Just wanted to wish you well as you pile on the miles. I’m hoping to pile on 70 as I dive headfirst into winter half-marathon training. Should be a good motivator to stay on track.

    Alison

  2. Hey Alison! Great name. 🙂

    Good luck with the 70 mile goal. I am awestruck that last year’s winner did so many miles! It’s very humbling. I’m training for a half marathon, too – which one are you planning to run?

  3. I am running half of an indoor marathon relay here in Milwaukee. I believe it’s only one of two indoor marathons in existence — something like 45 laps around the indoor track is a half-marathon! Should be a unique experience – and the weather will be a perfect 50-55 degrees. 🙂 Which race are you running?

  4. I am running the Disney Princess Half Marathon on March 7! I ran the 5k last year and am really looking forward to the half – it will be the one year anniversary of my first race!

Comments are closed.

