• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Applicious

I ate an awful lot while at home in Michigan this weekend, but the main meal I want to share with you is the lunch we ate at Crane’s Pie Pantry in Fennville, Michigan.

When I was a kid, we used to pick apples at Crane’s Orchard and eat at the Pie Pantry Restaurant sometimes after church.  Crane’s is also where we used to go to see Santa at Christmas – it was a much nicer experience than standing in line at the mall!  We still go back whenever we are in Michigan, and this time we were excited to be joined by our friends Lance and Amanda!

Crane’s is out in the country, but the drive is worth it!  The restaurant is in the old farmhouse.

GEDC1839

The decor in the waiting area and restaurant was always fun when I was a kid – it’s full of old farming equipment and historic artifacts from homes and schools in the early 1900s.

GEDC1856

GEDC1844

GEDC1845

I was super excited to see pulled pork on the specials menu – it’s one of my favorites!

GEDC1843

My lunch order included a cup of chili with cheddar cheese, a pulled pork BBQ sandwich on whole wheat, and potato chips. I donated my pickle to Mike (I am not a pickle fan.)

GEDC1847

I can’t really leave Crane’s without having an apple cider doughnut – seriously, these things are the nectar of the gods!  It came warm with vanilla ice cream.  Yum!  Of course, the best thing about these donuts is that they are made with apples grown in Crane’s orchard! Yay for local food!

GEDC1848

I definitely did not finish all that ice cream – about 3/4 of it was also donated to the Husband!

Amanda ordered the apple cidersicle for her dessert; it was basically cider frozen in a paper cup with a plastic spoon in it, but she said it was really good!  And for 50 cents, how can you go wrong?

GEDC1851Amanda demonstrates that the cidersicle is a bit difficult to eat.

Of course, you can’t leave Crane’s empty handed!  We picked up a gallon of apple cider on the way out:

GEDC1852

And, luckily, they sell apple cider doughnuts by the dozen!

GEDC1853

I definitely had hot apple cider (with mulling spices and rum!) and an apple cider doughnut while handing out candy to trick or treaters later that night!  Apple cider doughnuts are seriously my favorite fall treat, even more than pumpkin-flavored stuff.  Try as I may, I cannot find these things in Florida!  I need a recipe… Doughnuts are easy to make, right?

Doughnuts do not, however, travel on planes very well, so we left the rest in Holland for my parents to enjoy.  😦

I’m trying to put my house back together after being out of town for five days, but I’ll be back later tonight with more!

P.S. – Remember my post about the New York Times article about “plodders” supposedly ruining the marathon?  Here’s another New York Times article, but this one is about cheating in the marathon! In my opinion, cheaters are doing more to cheapen marathon running than plodders.  What do you think?

2 Responses

  1. Those look amazing…and I’m not even a doughnut fan.

  2. I’m not much of a doughnut fan, either. I probably eat my weight in doughnuts every fall, though, because of these things!

Comments are closed.

