• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Manic Monday

I’m going to start my entry the same way again:  my day was crazy!  I am still taking care of work stuff that I neglected during my mini-vacation.  Also, I taught four back-to-back lessons about vocabulary and cause and effect today, so that kept me extremely busy!

So, my crazy day started with two slices of whole wheat bread with Whole Foods peanut butter.  I am trying to alternate this with other breakfasts, but toast was calling my name today!

Mid-morning, our Project CHILD coordinator dropped off some Laffy Taffy in a cute package for me:

GEDC1866

I resisted these until mid-afternoon, when I just had to break into them!  Instead, I snacked on pretzels while my kids worked on vocabulary graphic organizers in their table groups.

GEDC1867

Lunch included oatmeal with brown sugar and cinnamon apples, and two Rice Krispie treats that my friend Karen made for me again this week!

GEDC1868

Oatmeal was the perfect lunch for me today because I could eat it while working on lesson plans and doing other work around my classroom.

I munched on an afternoon snack of broccoli, carrots, and ranch before cheerleading, and I finished the rest after cheerleading.  (I did this while laminating.  I love laminating!)

GEDC1873

(This is only “the rest” that I finished while laminating – I ate the first half while holding a meeting about our cookie dough fundraiser, so I couldn’t take a picture!)

Meanwhile, as I laminated, the Husband was at home cooking up a tasty dinner, recipe courtesy of Cooking Light magazine!  I had earmarked this one in the November issue because it sounded extremely tasty:  Black Pepper and Molasses Pulled Chicken Sandwiches.  Yum!

The Husband made the sandwiches along with corn on the cob and some bakery sandwich rolls I picked up at Publix last week.

GEDC1876

GEDC1875

These sandwiches were SO good!  The sauce was thick, tangy, and sweet.  If you like barbecue, I highly suggest you download the recipe.  Sadly, the corn wasn’t very good, which I had half-expected as it’s out of season now and it had sat in our pantry for a week.

The Husband also asked me to pick up some french fries for dinner – since I began my healthy eating kick in May, we have generally made our own fries.  Time was of the essence this evening, though, so I scanned the frozen food aisle at Publix for the healthiest french fries.  I settled on Alexia’s Oven Fries with olive oil, rosemary, and garlic.  I thought the ingredients list was pretty good:

  • Russet potatoes
  • Olive, sunflower, or canola oil
  • Sea salt
  • EVOO
  • Dextrose
  • Garlic powder
  • Rosemary
  • Black pepper
  • Marjoram
  • Thyme
  • Natural rosemary flavor

These tasted much fresher than your average frozen fries!  Sorry for the lack of a pictures – they came out of the oven after the rest of our dinner and I ate them really fast.  🙂

It’s my best friend’s birthday (Happy Birthday, Missy!) so I’m off to spend some quality time on the phone with her – she lives in Kentucky and has three kids, so our time spent together is minimal.

Have a magnificent Monday, everyone!

