• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Recipe of the Week: November 2

It’s not very often that I make up my own recipes – I generally need a recipe for guidance.  Last week, though, I had an idea for a new pizza recipe!  After I tried out my new recipe tonight, I decided that it definitely needed to be my recipe of the week!

I started with a whole wheat pizza crust I picked up at the Sarasota Downtown Farmer’s Market last weekend.  The label said it could stay in the fridge for up to a year, and it was still fresh today!  I covered it with a few tablespoons of Newman’s Own alfredo sauce.

GEDC1882

Then, I grilled four chicken cutlets:

GEDC1879

While the chicken was on the stove, I chopped up a bunch of broccoli and a red pepper.  I combined these with a package of sugar snap peas.  (I was inspired to include the sugar snap peas by a pasta dish I ate this weekend!)

Then I sauteed the veggies in our cast iron skillet:

GEDC1881

I covered the pizza with about half the chicken and veggies, and about a 1/2 cup of Publix brand Italian cheese blend.  The other half of the chicken and vegetable mixture I put into a storage container to keep in the fridge:

GEDC1883

My thought is that I can mix these leftovers with pasta or rice for tasty lunches later in the week!

Anyway, back to the pizza…

My perfect pizza baked for about 15 minutes at 450 degrees, and came out looking amazing!!  I immediately plated two huge slices for myself.  Okay, by two slices, I mean half the pizza…

GEDC1884

I had high hopes for this pizza, and I was NOT disappointed!  My only worry was that the crust wouldn’t stand up to all the veggies, so I brought a fork to the table.  However, the crust was nice and crunchy, and it was easy to eat with pizza with my fingers – no fork required!

GEDC1886

Even the Husband liked this pizza.  His review:  “Tasty.”  (He’s a man of very few words.)  His suggestion was to add garlic and crushed red pepper next time, and I thought that onions would also make a good future addition.

Overall, I was pretty impressed with my ability to dream up a veggie combination that would work on pizza.  I’m not very creative with food, but I’m proud of myself about this recipe.  I’m also looking forward to the leftover sauteed chicken and veggies with whole wheat penne pasta for lunch tomorrow!

