• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Cheerful Cheerleading

I had a raging headache all day and very nearly canceled cheerleading practice – but I didn’t, and we ended up having a wonderful practice!  There was a lot of successful stunting, and considering most of these girls just began cheerleading a month ago, I was so proud! 🙂

I didn’t take many food pictures today, though.  😦  Here’s a summary:

  • Breakfast:  Oatmeal with cinnamon apples and brown sugar (I am almost out of cinnamon apples!)
  • Morning snack:  Pretzels (about 1 cup)
  • Lunch:  Okay, now this was worth a picture!  I mixed leftover sauteed sugar snap peas, broccoli, red pepper, and chicken with whole wheat penne pasta and Newman’s Own alfredo.

GEDC1891

GEDC1892

I was right – the chicken and veggie mixture was an awesome leftover, and tasted great with pasta! It was basically a big bowl of yumminess.  🙂

My afternoon snack was a mini-bag of microwave popcorn, which wasn’t worth photographing.  My only Halloween candy snack so far today has been a fun-sized bag of Sour Skittles.  I love sour candy!

Time to scrounge up some leftovers for dinner… Our fridge is full of leftover goodies right now, so this shouldn’t be a challenge!

