• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Oatmeal Love

I’m going to make this entry really quick – I just got home, I’m starving, and I’m heating up some leftover pancakes for a snack.  🙂

I also have to get into the kitchen and start working on this week’s Recipe of the Week.  In case you missed them, here are my last two recipes of the week:

This morning, I really wanted oatmeal for breakfast.  Alas, there was neither time nor a clan pot; I settled for two pieces of whole wheat toast with peanut butter.

I made up for that by packing oatmeal for a snack at school!

GEDC1958

My oatmeal included:

  • 1/2 cup Publix organic oats
  • 2 tsp. brown sugar
  • The last of my cinnamon apples 😦
  • Water.  I have no idea how much since I poured it out of my bottle at work!

I prefer oatmeal with half milk, half water, but I use just water at work.  And, with my cinnamon apples all gone, I’ll have to come up with some new treats to add to my oatmeal!

My lunch was simple – leftover whole wheat spaghetti with tomato basil sauce:

GEDC1957

My afternoon at school got so busy that I had no time for a snack – but I left pretty much right after school to go home and cook up the aforementioned pancake snack, which I just destroyed.  🙂

See you later for a Recipe of the Week!

