• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Recipe of the Week: November 9

I was in a muffin mood this weekend, so I combed my Ina Garten cookbooks.  I settled on a recipe that sounded pretty healthy – Chunky Banana Bran Muffins!  (Here is the recipe for Chunky Banana Bran Muffins at FoodNetwork.com!)

My first step was to buy a muffin tin – can you believe I don’t own one?!  Actually, that’s a long story.  I used to have a cool red muffin pan.  Then, we got married and I was given a wonderful bake-and-carry set with muffin tins, so I gave my old red muffin pan to Goodwill.  But, I never brought my bake-and-carry set down from Michigan because it didn’t fit in the luggage. So, it’s totally in my room at my parents house.  I’m going to get it this Christmas, but I ended up buying another muffin tin today!  (My fingers are crossed that the two pans are basically the same…)

Okay, enough story – onto the baking!

This recipe started with combining butter, brown sugar, eggs, orange zest, vanilla and molasses.

GEDC1961

It also called for combining wheat bran and buttermilk, and letting them sit for a while:

GEDC1962

Then, I combined those bowls.  To that, I added flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Lastly, I folded in the bananas (which I mushed up instead of dicing for more flavor consistency) and walnuts.  I omitted the raisins because, frankly, I don’t care for them!  🙂

The batter looked like this:

GEDC1963

Into the muffin tin went my batter!

GEDC1968

And after exactly 30 minutes at 350 degrees, I had beautiful, golden-brown muffins!

GEDC1965

GEDC1967

Of course, I had to dig into my muffins right away!

GEDC1970

I have to say, these turned out perfectly!  The taste seemed a bit odd at first, I think because these muffins are full of brown sugar and molasses for sweetness instead of white sugar.  After a couple bites, though, I was hooked!

If you like bran muffins or bananas, I would definitely give these a try.  They are very moist and light, moreso that most bran muffins I have had!

Next time I make these, I think I wouldn’t slice up my walnuts so finely – I used the Magic Bullet to chop whole walnuts, and it make them very fine.  This means the muffins aren’t as “chunky” as the moniker would suggest!  They still have a nice nutty flavor, though.

I’m keeping half these muffins around for breakfasts and snacks this week.  The other half are going directly into the freezer!  I plan to individually wrap them so I can enjoy a single muffin any time I want.

Happy baking, everyone!

2 Responses

  1. Next on my ‘gotta get one’ list…the Magic Bullet.
    Muffins look yummy. I think even my kids would eat these. TFS.

  2. Yep, I think kids would really like these! They definitely aren’t your “average” bran muffins!

    The Bullet is overrated, but is definitely good for some things. It chops nuts fairly well, and the Husband likes it for grinding coffee. As a blender, though, it is lackluster.

Comments are closed.

