• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Hitting the Gym

My morning started out perfectly:  First, I had the time to make oatmeal!  Second, the Husband had made me some more cinnamon apples for my oatmeal!

GEDC1972

My Snapware of oatmeal included:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup Publix organic oats
  • Cinnamon apples!  (Probably about 3 tbs.?)
  • 2 tsp. brown sugar
  • Coconut
  • Slivered almonds

It was pretty much a mish mash, and it was awesome!  I loved it.

During 2nd period, I was able to pause for a midmorning snack of broccoli, carrots, and ranch dip with a Chunky Banana Bran Muffin on the side!

GEDC1975

GEDC1974

I ate this snack a bit early, though – by the time lunch came around (12:20) I was super hungry again!  My lunch was a mix of whole wheat penne pasta, Newman’s Own alfredo sauce, and sauteed broccoli and red peppers that I made up this morning.

GEDC1976

It was accompanied by the last of our French bread from Sunday:

GEDC1977

At cheerleading practice, I ate my afternoon snack of another Chunky Banana Bran Muffin.  No picture because I was coaching!  My girls got their temporary uniforms today (just t-shirts and skorts) and they are SO psyched!  They tried everything on and looked totally adorable.  They really seemed like a cheerleading team for the first time!

After practice, I actually hit the gym.  I have a membership to Anytime Fitness, which means I can access any of their gyms in the country any time I want with my key fob.  There’s one by my school here in Sarasota, but I never go since I prefer to run outside.  (I mainly use my gym membership to run inside during the summer when it’s too hot, and to cross-train when I have time!  I spent a lot of time at the Anytime Fitness in Celebration this summer when I was off work.)

Anyway, we got some serious rain today that I was worried would last into tomorrow morning and rain out my run.  Therefore, I popped into the gym and did a quick 30 minutes on the treadmill.  It wasn’t great, but it meant that I could enjoy cable TV for a half hour!  (We don’t have cable at our house.)  I spent some time watching a Gilmore Girls rerun on ABC Family – my mom and I love this show, so it was fun to watch an old episode!

I might start spending more time at my gym to enjoy the cable TV!

Now I’m off to enjoy my own lack of cable TV by curling up with a book…

2 Responses

  1. I love the pasta. Newman’s Own alfredo is one of my favorites.

  2. Me too! I pretty much celebrate any culinary product Paul Newman has ever produced. We buy his salad dressings like they’re going out of style!

Comments are closed.

