• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Many Muffins

I got an early start this morning and rushed out the door to get things done at work.  Therefore, I didn’t photograph my usual, boring breakfast:  two slices of whole wheat toast with peanut butter.  The bread was Arnold Bread this time around, and the PB, as always, was the Whole Foods brand.  It was fast and filling!

After my crazy morning (hint: it involved our school’s first-ever assembly, which was to commemorate Veteran’s Day, and I found out 24 hours before this event that my homeroom needed to present something) I snacked on a Chunky Banana Bran Muffin during third period:

GEDC1980

The thing I am liking most about these muffins is that they make an extremely portable and very filling snack!  They don’ t have to be kept cold, they aren’t messy, and they require no prep work, so they’re easy to eat in the classroom.

Now, onto lunch.  I’ll warn you now:  the Husband was in charge of putting leftover turkey, mashed potatoes, and gravy into a storage container, so it doesn’t look very appetizing!  He kind of just dumped it all in.

GEDC1981

I know, I know, it doesn’t look very good, but it was!  It was like Thanksgiving had arrived early! These were leftovers from Word of Mouth on Tuesday night, which I did not blog about because I left the camera at home.

I seriously thought that this filling lunch would tide me over until I got home, but I was wrong!  I ended up snacking on cinnamon apple oatmeal during my afternoon planning period!

GEDC1982

My oatmeal was pretty basic.  It included:

  • The last of the cinnamon apples made by the Husband (maybe a 1/4 cup?)
  • 1/2 cup Publix organic oats
  • 2 tsp. brown sugar
  • An unmeasured amount of water

Then my tummy was very happy!  When I got home, I had another Chunky Banana Bran Muffin because they were calling my name.

Now I’m off to the kitchen to prepare tonight’s dinner.  I’ll give you a hint!

