• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Shou-der? Chowda!

As I’m sure my Simpsons hint told you, I made chowder for dinner last night!

The Husband is a huge fan of soup, any and all varieties.  I mainly like soups of the unhealthy, cream-based variety, like chowder!

The chowder I made last night I consider healthy, though, because it includes lots of veggies.  It’s called Gina’s Spicy Corn Chowder, and yes, it’s another Food Network recipe!  (I used to watch Food Network all the time when we had cable.)

Here’s my bowl of chowder, with all its creamy, vegetable-y goodness:

GEDC1985

Seriously, other than the fact that this involves bacon grease for the base (I cut the bacon amount in half) and heavy cream, it’s not that bad!  It includes:

  • Onions
  • Red peppers
  • Jalapenos
  • Red potatoes
  • Corn

I am a wimp when it comes to spicy things, so I cut down on the amount of jalapenos, too.  Last time we made it, my mouth was totally on fire.  This time, it just had a pleasant kick to it!

I think to make this recipe healthier, I would cut out all the bacon and switch the heavy cream to half and half.  What do you think?

Anyway, along with the corn chowder, I whipped up a tasty salad with a bunch of veggies we had in the fridge:

GEDC1984

My salad for two invovled:

  • Romaine lettuce
  • Broccoli
  • Red peppers
  • Carrots
  • Croutons
  • Shredded cheddar cheese

The salad that ended up on my plate also included Newman’s Own Ranch Dressing.  (I told you that I’m obsessed with Newman’s Own products!)

This dinner was soooo good, but I was practically too tired to enjoy it!  After dinner, I read for a bit and totally fell asleep at 9:00!  Oh well – nine hours of sleep was clearly what my body needed.

I’m off to create breakfast!

2 Responses

  1. hey! i just started my own blog too and i’m clueless as to how to manage it. any tips would be so helpful. for one, my blog is not coming up on google — and i can’t figure out how to customize things on my page. help! i love yours, by the way. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the compliment! I’m a beginner, too, and I have no idea if my blog even shows up in Google! Here are my tips based on reading:

    1. Read and comment on a LOT of blogs with similar content to your own… Be an active part of the community.
    2. Post 2 times a day, or more if your schedule allows.
    3. Include many links to other blogs and sites with related content to build interest.

    As to customizing, if you read all the info from WordPress and just play around with things, you’ll figure it out! A basic knowledge of HTML and of Photoshop helped me out, too. 🙂

    Good luck!

Comments are closed.

