• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

8-miler Nerves

Good morning!  It is currently 53 degrees in Sarasota this fine morning, and I am LOVING IT!  We put an extra blanket on our bed last night.  I miss Michigan winter, but Florida winter (once it cools off) is pretty good, too!

Today, I’m looking forward to my cheerleaders wearing their uniforms to school for the first time.  They’re going to look awesome!

No post last night because, obviously, I was watching NBC!  My Thursdays are even more dedicated to TV now that all four shows are hilarious.  Seriously, I even like the new one, Community.  It’s pretty good!

Dinner was very basic and simple, and whipped up quickly by the Husband.

Leftover spicy corn chowder and a grilled cheese sandwich, my all-time favorite food:

GEDC2011

GEDC2012

The Husband is seriously the World’s Best Maker of Grilled Cheese Sandwiches.  He’s a pro with the cast iron skillet!

The weather is so great, I wish I could run today, but it’s a day off.  I have an 8-miler on my training schedule tomorrow! This will be a distance PR for me – the farthest I have ever run is 6. 2 miles or maybe a bit more in my training for Disney’s Race for the Taste 10k.

I’m pretty nervous about the distance, but at the same time, I have confidence that I’ll get through it.  I remember the days when running a full mile, or two miles, or a whole 5k seemed like a huge reach for me, and I have jumped all those hurdles.  Why should 8 miles be any different?!

Better go – lots to do this Friday!

