• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Whirlwind

I had a surprisingly good day, for a Monday!

It started with two slices of whole what toast with Whole Foods peanut butter.  Like I always say, it’s a boring breakfast, but it’s fast and filling!  I needed energy to get to work early and get things done.

My school day was a whirlwind of teaching, grading last week’s work, and planning for the rest of the week.  I usually do the grading and planning on Fridays, but I left right away last Friday to go out with my co-workers!  (Read my post about drinks and dinner.)

I managed to find time for a chocolate chip Zbar around 11:00!

I realize that these are for kids, but I love ’em!  They’re not high in fat and calories like other bars, and they have enough fiber to fill me up for a bit.

I ate my lunch of oatmeal while getting out TVs hooked up to watch today’s shuttle launch:

My dish of oatmeal contained:

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats (Target brand this time!)
  • 2 tsp. brown sugar
  • Handful Craisins
  • Water
  • Slivered almonds and coconut for toppings

I had to peruse our school library after school for a book I need for tomorrow’s lesson, so I snacked on pineapple during this process.

The book I needed was The True Story of the Three Little Pigs to teach about point of view.  Luckily, we had it in our library!  In case you’ve never heard of it, this book is the three little pigs’ story told from the wolf’s point of view.  I like teaching concepts using children’s literature, and then having my middle schoolers apply the concept to reading that is on their level.

Anyway, I digress… The Husband is about to walk in, and we are headed to the kitchen to make some brinner, a.k.a. breakfast for dinner!

