• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Pumpkin Bread Obsession

I hit the gym for a run today, and watched Giada DiLaurentis make a Thanksgiving dinner.  Her style of cuisine doesn’t normally appeal to me, but the ciabatta bread stuffing she mixed up today looked so tasty!  To bad I’m not in charge of stuffing for Turkey Day this year.  😦

This reminds me, though, that I need to get started on my portion of the Thanksgiving menu!  More on that later… Now onto run stats!

  • Time:  2 minute warm up; 30 minutes run 2/walk 1; 2 minute cool down
  • Total distance:  2.5 miles
  • Pace:  My walk pace was 15:00 miles and my run pace was 11:30

Tuesday Treats

I ate some ridiculously yummy foods today!  It started with a leftover apple cinnamon granola pancake with maple syrup for breakfast:

I actually ate breakfast at home this morning – I sat on our front porch with the Husband and it was very nice!

My pancake wasn’t totally filling, so I grabbed a slice of pumpkin bread on the way out the door.

Morning snack was a Zbar that I snagged from my lunch box between classes!

My students were organizing recent work into their portfolios today, and then I taught a lesson on point of view, so it was kind of crazy in my classroom today!

My lunch was awesome!  First of all, I threw some of last night’s leftover red potato and onion has browns into a storage container with steamed carrots and broccoli.

When I was packing, this didn’t look like enough lunch (and I was right!), so I included whole wheat penne pasta with Newman’s Own alfredo sauce.

Go, veggies and carbs!

After school and before my run at the gym, I grabbed another piece of pumpkin bread!  (Can you tell I am glad that I defrosted the other loaf?!)

After my run, I was super thirsty.  I need to bring one of my Nathan water bottles to sip on when I am on the treadmill!  I sucked down a bunch of water from my Nalgene bottle in the car after my run.

Hillsdale College is my alma mater.  Go Chargers!  Our football team is in the DII sweet sixteen this weekend!!

The Husband is in the kitchen right now, hard at work on some stir fry which will be the Recipe of the Week.  (I picked something else!)

I better go help.  Or hang around, eat pieces of red pepper, and bother him with the camera is more like it.  🙂

