• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Stir Fry

The Husband whipped up a tasty stir-fry for dinner last night!

It began with chopping a lot of vegetables and chicken.  This is fine by him, because chopping his his favorite kitchen activity.

Onions and red pepper:

Ginger:

Carrots:

Broccoli and sugar snap peas:

Then it all went into the wok with some chicken!

The Husband also made stir fry sauce, which included chili garlic oil, honey, and say sauce.

Now, I meant to serve this with brown rice, but the organic brown rice I picked up wasn’t instant!  So, the rice wasn’t ready when I was ready to eat – I ended up with my chicken and vegetable mixture, sans stir fry sauce, on top of whole wheat penne pasta with Newman’s Own alfredo sauce.

This worked out just fine, and it made for a great dinner.  However, I’m excited that my lunch today involves the stir-fry mix, sauce, and brown rice.  Yay!

After dinner, I had a bowl of ice cream out of the fridge.  I jazzed up my Blue Bell vanilla ice cream with Hershey’s syrup and sprinkles.  🙂

I know what you’re thinking – and the answer is, yes, those are sprinkles in the shape and colors of tropical fish!  I got a bunch of different containers of sprinkles at my bridal shower last year.  The fish ones usually go on sundaes because I save the seasonal ones for holiday cookies!

After this delicious dinner and dessert, I was stuffed and happy to veg out on the couch all evening with a copy of The Last Olympian, which is the last book in Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series.  It was the perfect evening!

