• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

4 Miles on the New Bike

We went on a bike ride today!

Remember how I mentioned earlier that my legs were sore?  I figured my best hope for exercise was riding my new pink beach cruiser around!  So, when the Husband said he was going to the grocery store, I jumped at the chance to bike along.

We biked to Morton’s Gourmet Market for a few dinner essentials, and then to the nearest ABC store so the Husband could buy himself some birthday whiskey.  (His birthday is tomorrow!)

All in all, our trip was about 4 miles.  It was nice to get out of the house and stretch my legs without running.

Thursday Eats

I began my day with the same oatmeal I made yesterday.  I was rushing out the door, so no picture, but my oatmeal included:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 2 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp. maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup apple cinnamon granola

Morning snack was another chocolate chip Zbar.  I bought two boxes of these last weekend, so you’ll be seeing them a lot!

I ate lunch on the run – I was socializing with my students and their families at our first annual Family Thanksgiving Feast! (Basically, we just invited everyone’s families to eat the school cafeteria’s regular Thanksgiving meal, but it was very nice.  Everyone ate on picnic blankets and lawn chairs outside.)

Therefore, I quickly grabbed some whole wheat penne pasta with Newman’s Own alfredo sauce, and a slice of pumpkin bread.

After practice, I was starving and faced with a dilemma:  heat up the stir fry in my lunch box and eat it at my desk, or go home and make something?  Knowing that I wanted to leave on a bike ride right when I got home, I ended up microwaving my stir fry and eating it on my way out of school.

This was a good decision – I’m finally getting my “real” dinner and it’s almost 8:00, so that stir fry really did the trick.

I’ve got dinner in the oven/on the stove, and my Thursday NBC shows are about to start, so I better run!

2 Responses

  1. Hi there! I just came across your blog. You are so darn cute! So glad to have found you!! can’t wait to keep reading!!

  2. Thanks for the compliment. Glad to have you as a reader!

Comments are closed.

