• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Another Stir-Fry Day!

My Wednesday began in the best way possible – with oatmeal!

This particular plastic container of oatmeal involved:

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats (Target brand)
  • 2 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1 tbs. maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup apple cinnamon granola

I added the granola in the last minute of cooking on the stove, so it was still crunchy and flavorful but was integrated into the oatmeal.  I may have this for breakfast again today – it was SO good!

Morning snack was my usual chocolate chip Zbar.

For lunch, I finally got to taste the Husband’s stir-fry with the sauce and some organic brown rice!

This looks like a lot of stir fry, and it was!  This lunch involved a lot of veggies, chicken, and brown rice, so I was very full until the end of the school day, which is rare!

During our after school staff meeting, I snacked on pumpkin bread:

I didn’t photograph any of my evening eats (sorry) but here’s a rundown:

  • I had peanut butter toast at about 5:00 because I was hungry, but not hungry for dinner.
  • The Husband and I biked to Chipotle for dinner last night.  I ordered my usual:  burrito bowl with rice, steak, corn salsa, cheese, and lettuce.  I also had a bunch of chips with green salsa.  Yum!

Running

My legs are very stiff after Tuesday’s short run at the gym.  Could it be because of the treadmill?

I’m going to get in a run either today or tomorrow, depending on how my legs feel.  I may just let them rest until Saturday’s 5-miler (it’s a taper week) if they continue to feel sore and tight.

My shins feel bruised up, like I’m developing shin splints again.  I put up with it while training for my first race, but haven’t had a problem since.  I think it’s either the added distance, or the treadmill that’s causing the problem.

