• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Disney Dining Reviews

We had an awesome day at Disney!  We hit the Magic Kingdom and Epcot, and both parks were not busy at all.  By our standards, they were totally dead!

Before leaving, I committed myself to eating sensibly during the day.  Often, I totally stuff myself just because we’re at Disney and feel sick by the end of the day, so I decided not to do that this time.

By the time we got to Magic Kingdom at 11:00 A.M., I was a little hungry but didn’t want to stop for a snack – I ate a chocolate chip Zbar on the monorail instead!  This way, we could go straight to Space Mountain!

When looking around for lunch, the Birthday Husband wanted to eat at Liberty Tree Tavern in the Magic Kingdom.  This place is usually a fairly popular table service restaurant, but we walked in and were seated in 10 minutes!  And most of those 10 minutes were spent watching Tiana’s Showboat Jubilee go by, so it wasn’t bad at all.

We ordered fried cheese sticks to begin (Husband’s choice).

The cheese curds were yummy!  I had three curds and two of the mozarella sticks.

For lunch, the Birthday Husband ordered the Tri-Corner Sandwich, which included roast beef, swiss cheese, slaw, horseradish sauce, and mayo.  (Husband loves a giant sandwich.)  It did not disappoint!

I ordered the chicken and dumplings.  I was expecting a small bowl or dish with a creamy sauce brimming with veggies, and a couple of biscuits on top.  What I got was chicken noodle soup, and I was really not happy.  I don’t even like chicken noodle soup!

As far as soup goes, it wasn’t bad.  The only veggies were celery and carrots, though.  The chicken was very good.  I mostly picked at the chicken and carrots and then ate most of the Husband’s french fries.  🙂

After lunch, we stopped at Aloha Isle and got a Dole Whip! Dole Whips are pineapple flavored soft serve.

I had a LOT of help from the Husband and we still didn’t finish all this – Disney piles on the portions!  The soft serve was creamy and had a major pineapple flavor.  Pineapple is my favorite fruit, so it was perfect!  This was my first Dole Whip, and it won’t be my last!

At MK, the Husband and I managed to ride Space Mountain, Big Thunder Mountain, the Haunted Mansion, Jungle Cruise, and Pirates of the Caribbean with a stop for lunch, ice cream, shopping for Christmas ornaments, and watching Tiana’s Showboat Jubilee another time, all in under five hours.

In the afternoon, we headed to Epcot.  We rode Soarin’ and walked around the World Showcase for a while.

The Birthday Husband decided that for dinner, he wanted to hang out in the Crew Cup Lounge, which is the bar at the Yacht Club Resort and is connected to his favorite Disney restaurant, the Yachtsman Steakhouse.  He likes the beer and the atmosphere, and they have a bar menu with a few of the restaurants staples on it.

Well, we arrived and sat down.  Then, our server told us that we could order anything off the steakhouse menu that night! I guess it was a slow night.  We figured our theme park luck was in full swing.

I started with a glass of pinot grigio:

We deliberated about our orders for a long time – we weren’t super hungry, so we were trying to figure out how to order a light dinner.  The final decision was that we would each order a salad and split an entree.

I had a Caeser salad.

And also some crusty bread with roasted garlic:

The Birthday Husband had the tomato salad.

…Though he reminded me again that he liked the old salad with the tomatoes, onions, and blue cheese better!

Our split entree was the short ribs with julienne vegetables and fingerling potatoes.

This dish was very good, especially the potatoes, and was cooked perfectly.  My one complaint about the Yachtsman is that the sauces aren’t very flavorful – I would almost call them bland.  However, it’s Disney and they try to keep the menus pleasing to everyone.  I think this is the reason that I prefer the short ribs at Roy’s!

All things considered, this was pretty much the perfect Disney day!  We rode lots of rides with no wait, the crowds were low, and we ate two meals that were totally unexpected, but very good.

Also, I’m happy to say that I stuck with my promise to eat sensibly.  My lunch and dinner were both light, and I didn’t eat huge portions.  I snacked sensibly by eating the Zbar and splitting ice cream with the Birthday Husband.  I think I did really well!

