• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Recipe of the Week: November 16

So, my Recipe of the Week is late this week, but I have a good excuse!  I really wanted this chili to be my recipe this week, but it took a while to get around to making it.

My chili recipe is an evolved version of my mom’s chili recipe.  Over the past couple years, I’ve tweaked her recipe by removing the tomato chunks in favor of tomato puree, adding black beans in addition to kidney beans, and, just today, swapping ground beef for ground turkey to make it leaner.  I’ve also switched up the spices.

This recipe was hand-written in my mom’s file, and therefore I don’t know the origins.  I’m pretty proud of my version, though!  Since I invented it myself, I don’t feel bad posting the whole thing!  So, without further ado…

Allison’s Soon-to-be-Famous Chili

  • 2 lbs. ground turkey
  • 1 1/2 c. diced onion
  • 15 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 30 oz. can tomato puree
  • 15 oz. can spicy chili beans
  • 15 oz. can black beans, drained and thoroughly rinsed
  • 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin

Begin by browning the onions and the turkey in a skillet.  (Note:  I love our cast iron skillet!)  If you haven’t browned ground turkey before (which I hadn’t before today; I usually use lean ground beef) here’s a tip: it doesn’t just naturally separate like beef.  You have to use your spoon or spatula to kind of cut it up into small pieces.

Meanwhile, in a stockpot, combine the tomato sauce, tomato puree, chili beans, and black beans.

Bring this mixture to a boil and add the spices.  (I swear, this blog is NOT sponsored by Publix!  I just enjoy their store brand.)

When the turkey and onions are browned, drain them and add the turkey/onion mixture to the tomato/bean mixture.  Bring all of this to a boil.  Then, turn down the heat and simmer for one hour.

The finished product….

As always, I enjoyed my chili with cheddar cheese and tortilla chips.

Is there any other way to eat chili than to scoop it with chips?!

Reasons why, even though my chili might not be for everyone, I love it:

  • It has tomato flavor, but no tomato chunks.  I love the flavor, not the texture, of tomatoes.
  • It has a smoky and spicy flavor, but isn’t so spicy you can hardly eat it.
  • I think that with ground turkey substituted for ground beef, it’s fairly healthy.
  • It makes an extremely filling meal that I assume is high in protein.

I’m in a total food coma after this dinner, so I’m going to watch a DVD on the couch.  Have a great night, everyone!

