• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Turkey Day 10-Miler

I hit double digits today and it feels AMAZING!!!! 🙂

I am extremely proud of myself, obviously.  10 MILES!

We’re off to Daytona Beach for Thanksgiving in a few, so I have to make this fast.  Here are some stats:

  • Distance:  10 miles!
  • Run 2/Walk 1, as always
  • Time:  2:08:33  (This is an average of just under 13-minute miles, so we were pleased with ourselves)
  • Fuel:  An hour before the run, I had a slice of whole wheat toast with peanut butter.  At the halfway point, I ate a package of orange-flavored GU Chomps, my new favorite running fuel.  I drank water during and a 16-ounce bottle after.  I currently have an everything bagel in the toaster oven and also plan to make a smoothie with straberry Stonyfield yogurt and pineapples for the car ride.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, and congrats to everyone else who participated in a Turkey Trot today!  (Mine wasn’t a real race, just a fun gathering of runners, but I still had a blast!)

