• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Thanksgiving 2009

Our Thanksgiving weekend has been very busy!  We were in Daytona Beach on Thursday and Friday, and on Saturday, I was spending time with the Husband before he headed to Gainesville for work again.  Now that things have finally settled down, here’s a Turkey Day re-cap!

I arrived home from my Thanksgiving Day 10-miler, hopped in the shower, and then immediately wolfed down an everything bagel with butter!  (I had grabbed a bagel from Fleet Feet after my run.)  I also made a smoothie out of Stonyfield strawberry yogurt and pineapple to drink on the road:

Once we got to Daytona, there was plenty of hanging out with our friends and lots of food!

There are the two dishes that the Husband cooked up when we arrived – buttery lemon broccolini and sauteed carrots with sage.  The broccolini didn’t turn out, but the carrots did!

There’s the finished cranberry-orange dressing product.  This is the Husband’s favorite!

Here’s my plate:

It includes turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, and broccoli casserole made by our hostess, Erin, and the carrots that Mike made.  I later sent Mike back to get me seconds on the turkey, potatoes, and carrots.  Yum!

I also munched on a few dinner rolls, and had a glass of red wine.  On Thanksgiving, we always drink King Estate Pinot Noir.  It’s a tradition that Mike and I started with our friends Nate and Tabetha last year!

For some contrast, here is the Husband’s plate:

I think he went back for seconds of green bean casserole and turkey.

So, on Thanksgiving, I fell asleep on the couch after dinner and didn’t even want dessert! I was tired and didn’t feel like eating anything else.  I finally heated up a piece of my apple crisp yesterday at our house.  (There were a few leftover bits after everyone else got done with it!)

Apple crisp with vanilla ice cream is the best!

Last night, the Husband and I were wishing for Thanksgiving leftovers.  We didn’t really have any because we ate at our friends’ house with eight people!  So, we made ourselves another mini-Thanksgiving dinner:  roast chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, and more sauteed carrots with sage:

This was the best idea ever!  Now I have “Thanksgiving leftovers” in the fridge!

I’ve got a lot on my list today (cleaning, grocery shopping) so I better get going.  🙂

2 Responses

  1. Ah, the contrast between your plate and Mike’s was priceless!

  2. Agreed. He eats us out of house and home. Good thing he doesn’t have highbrow tastes – I could keep him happy with tuna melts and Spanish rice.

Comments are closed.

