• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Running on a Monday?

Monday Run

I have no idea why, but I felt like a run after work today!  Luckily, it was cool enough already when I arrived home at 4:15 or I never would have fit it in.  I immediately scrambled into some running gear, but then played with my camera.

Here’s my “Awesome, I’m home from work with enough time and energy and the right weather to RUN!” face:

Here’s me modeling my new running shirt that I bought at Fleet Feet Sarasota for $15!

I don’t buy much Nike running gear.  I’m quite busty (36DD or so) and Nike doesn’t typically work for me.  But this top is very flattering, I think!

Anyway, enough modeling.  My run stats:

  • Distance:  2.6 miles
  • Time:  30 minutes
  • Run 2/walk 1

Slower than I would like, but oh well.  At least I ran.  🙂

After my run, I decided that I haven’t been doing enough strength training.  And by “enough,” I mean “any.”  So I did a wimpy three sets of the following:

  • 12 regular crunches
  • 12 side crunches right and left
  • 5 push-ups (I have no arm strength.  Cheerleader, remember?)
  • 10 tricep dips (the front steps are super convenient for this)
  • And just 1 30-second plank

I’m going to make the food summary fast because I want to get to the library and then shower before The Office comes on at 7:00 P.M.

Breakfast:

My oatmeal involved:

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 2 tsp. maple syrup
  • 2 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup apple cinnamon granola

I am rocking the bullet points today.  🙂

Morning snack was a honey graham ZBar:

I still like chocolate chip best, but this was good!

Lunch:

Leftover chicken breast, mashed potatoes, and sauteed carrots with sage.  I frickin’ love these carrots!  I might have to make more.  🙂

Afternoon snack was half a bag of microwave popcorn that I ate while running around school.

It’s now 5:45, which give me an hour and 15 minutes to bike to the library, check out new books, bike back, and shower.  Ready?  Set?  GO!

