• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Hungry Day = Super Veggie Dinner

I’ve mentioned before that I coach cheerleading at the middle school where I teach.  This extracurricular activity keeps me pretty busy!  On Tuesdays and Thursdays (practice days) I try to bring enough snacks to last me until practice ends at 5:00.  This was a huge challenge today – I was super hungry all day, and hadn’t really anticipated it! There was no reason, either – I ate a hearty oatmeal breakfast.

I got hungry for my morning snack early, and ate a ZBar around 10:30 A.M.

This didn’t do much – during 3rd period I had some unpictured pretzels.  Probably about a 1/2 cup.

I was still starving when lunch rolled around.  For lunch, I heated up some leftover “hamburger pie” (my mom’s version of shepherd’s pie.)

This isn’t the healthiest meal, but to me, it’s total comfort food.  This casserole involves:

  • Ground beef
  • Tomato soup
  • Peas
  • Carrots
  • Corn
  • And a mashed potato crust!

I grabbed four candy cane and mint truffle Hershey Kisses after lunch, too.  🙂

Mid-afternoon, I was super hungry again!  I had some pineapple in my lunch box, but wasn’t feeling it.  A few weeks ago, I grabbed a Fiber One bar from a staff breakfast.  I’ve been saving it in my drawer for a snack emergency.  This was it!

I didn’t love the taste of this bar, and I liked the ingredient list even less, but it was fairly filling.

After school and cheerleading practice, I stopped into the gym for a quick run.  Here’s my anticipation of Food Network enjoyment face:

(Faithful readers will recall that I like running at the gym as the treadmills have TVs with cable, and I don’t have cable at home.  Also, I swear I don’t wear this hat all the time… only when I run.  I feel like I’m wearing it in every picture on this blog!)

The run was not good.  Stats:

  • Time:  30 minutes
  • Distance:  2.08 miles
  • I kind of ran when I felt like it, and walked when I felt like it.  There was too much walking because of my shins.

My shins were really, really bothering me.  (Hello, shin splints.  I haven’t missed you much since you went away after my 5k!  You can leave again any time.)  I ended up walking the last 5 minutes at a semi-slow pace just to stretch my legs.

I felt bad about eating two bars and a comfort food lunch, so I came home and made a HUGE dish of veggies!

My sauteed vegetable mix included:

  • Broccoli
  • Asparagus
  • Green onions
  • Red pepper
  • Sugar snap peas

I put this on some whole wheat spaghetti with Newman’s Own alfredo sauce.  I finally feel full!

I’m off to relax with my Thursday night TV.

Anybody have tips for shin splints?

