• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Flooded Five-Miler

I am soaked to the bone!  Here’s a radar map of the weather for my run this morning:

We were pretty much drenched the minute we stepped out the door at Fleet Feet.  But, we decided to make the best of it!  Unless the weather is bad enough to cancel your run, you’ve got to get out there and do it with a smile on your face.  🙂

My biggest worry was that I would slip and fall because I am kind of a klutz, but I had no problems at all!  And my running group kept me smiling and chatting the whole time!

Stats:

  • Distance:  4.76 miles (yeah, we were a little short!)
  • Time:  1:01:31
  • Run 2/walk 1

My hat came in handy and kept the water out of my face the whole time!  There were puddles everywhere by the end of our run – there was no avoiding them, so I just tried the best I could.  When I walked through the door at home, I followed the shoe-drying advice from Pat at Fleet Feet:

  • Take the insoles or lining out of your shoes
  • Unlace your shoes most of the way
  • Put them inside, not outside, or they’ll never dry
  • Stuff newspaper in the shoes (Pat wasn’t sure why people do this, but I’m trying it anyway!)

I’m off to clean the house.  I need to do the following:

  1. Wash dishes
  2. Wash sheets and towels
  3. Wash the couch cover
  4. Clean the bathroom
  5. Sweep and steam our wood and tile floors (which is the whole house)

Anyone want to add their tips for running in the rain or drying out your running shoes?

