• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire

Okay, there aren’t actually chestnuts, but we do have an open fire!

I asked the Husband if he wanted to go on a walk tonight, but he just got a fire going in our fireplace after three hours of effort:

Obviously, we can’t leave.  🙂  Oh well.  I will happily spend the evening enjoying a rerun of The Office, some leftover potato cheddar soup, and a book!  Plus, I love having our first fire of the year – the fireplace is my favorite thing about this house!

I didn’t get any pictures today, because my day at school was full of grading.  Here’s a quick rundown:

  • Breakfast:  Oatmeal with maple syrup, brown sugar, and apple cinnamon granola
  • Morning snack:  Nonexistent
  • Lunch:  Whole wheat spaghetti with broccoli, sugar snap peas, asparagus, green onions, red pepper, and Newman’s Own alfredo sauce; four Hershey Kisses
  • Afternoon snack at home:  Carrots and ranch (I had a weird carrot craving on the way home from work); two pieces of whole wheat toast with peanut butter; chamomile tea and two sugar cookies (I was starving after work!)

This might be on my to-do list today or tomorrow, too:

We watched this one over the last two nights:

I love Christmas movies!!

