• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Dead

Guess what?  My camera batteries died today!  Until I pick up some more batteries, no pictures.  😦  I’ll try to hit the store tomorrow!

I hit the gym for a treadmill run today, and watched Ina Garten make some kind of pork dish.  I also watched the Neelys make a fish dish.  None of it looked very good to me, but I still enjoyed my Food Network time!

Run Stats:

  • Time:  30 minutes
  • Distance:  2.7 miles
  • Run 2/walk 1

Then I came home and did a quick strength workout.  3 reps of each of the following:

  • 12 regular crunches
  • 12 left side crunches
  • 12 right side crunches

I was kind of hungry and tired when I pulled up to the gym, so I had some worries that it wouldn’t be a quality training session.  However, I felt pretty good the whole time and the workout definitely made me feel energized!

Here’s a quick rundown of today’s eats:

  • Breakfast:  Oatmeal with maple syrup, brown sugar, and apple cinnamon granola.  (I am out of this stuff!  Sad.  I got it at the Holland Farmer’s Market this summer.  Maybe I can find it in the winter when I’m there?)
  • Morning snack:  Carrots and ranch
  • Lunch:  Open-face chicken salad sandwich (one slice whole wheat bread, chicken breast, mayo); whole wheat spaghetti with broccoli, sugar snap peas, red pepper, asparagus, green onion, and Newman’s Own alfredo sauce; four Starburst
  • Afternoon snack:  Two Reese’s pieces cookies made by a student

Now the Husband is making me some steamed broccoli and leftover potato cheddar soup.  Yum!

Gotta go – we’re going to watch The Office and A Charlie Brown Christmas, which is on ABC at 8:00 P.M.!

