• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Peppermint Hot Chocolate

Happy Friday, everyone!  My day started really well – I went to Starbucks because I just decided that I wanted to.  We are trying to cut going to restaurants out of our budget, but the Husband said I should keep my weekly Starbucks run.  I ordered a tall peppermint hot chocolate and a butter croissant.  Yum!

Peppermint hot chocolate is one of my favorite things in the world!  However, it gives me a major headache and makes me seriously jittery, so I only have it like once every winter.  It’s an indulgence that is well worth it!  I made the effort this year to actually buy some hot chocolate and I have ordered sugar-free peppermint syrup from a local coffee shop.  I hope it comes in soon!  Then I can make my own at home and not feel so sick.  🙂

My lunch was a leftover baked potato with butter and some steamed broccoli and carrots on the side.  Around 3:30 P.M., I ate two slices of cinnamon toast to tide me over.

Now I’m home, getting ready for my staff holiday party tonight.  I am on what is basically the “party planning” committee at my school, but since one of my fellow teachers is hosting this one at her house, I haven’t done much planning for it.  I am planning to make mini jalapeno popper pizzas for the event (recipe coming soon!) and I’m bringing a bottle of chardonnay as a hostess gift.

Expect a party post after tomorrow morning’s 10 mile run!

