• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

The Three R’s

My day was all about the three R’s:  rest, recovery, and relaxation!  After my 10-miler today, I hopped in the shower and then settled down to relax for a bit!

I put some ice on my knees and shins:

(Do you love my PJ pants?  They have old-fashioned winter postcards from ski resorts on them, and clash terribly with my quilt!)

If you’ve read my “Running” section, you’ll know that I was plagued by patellofemoral pain syndrome when I was a cheerleader in high school and college – although I believe the problem was mainly cause by wearing wooden shoes in marching band.  (This, however, is another story!)

Anyway, my left knee has been acting up again lately, and gets sore after about 7 miles, so I’ve started rest and icing.  I’ll get a brace for running or start kinesio taping again if I need to!

I read some Harry Potter while I iced:

I also snacked on leftover mini jalapeno popper pizzas from my Christmas party last night.

This recipe is from a Pampered Chef Season’s Best cookbook, and it’s one of my favorite appetizers!  The mini crusts are just Pillsbury pizza crust, which you slice instead of unrolling.  And the topping is Neufchatel cheese, bacon, jalapenos, red peppers, and cheddar cheese.  It’s a hit at parties!

After my lunch, reading, and icing, I proceeded to take a 3.5 hour nap and wake up feeling a bit better.  Between my stressful week, staying out at the party last night, and a 10-miler this morning, I think my body just needed to rest!

After my nap, I did some Christmas shopping online for the Husband and worked on plans for our Disney trip in March when I am running the Disney Princess Half Marathon.  🙂  Then I made a huge plate of veggies for dinner:

This delicious plate included:

  • Roasted red potatoes (olive oil, salt, pepper)
  • Steamed broccoli
  • Sauteed carrots with sage

Let’s not forget my glass of white wine.

All my favorite wines are from Oregon, and Publix recently expanded their selection of Pacific Northwest wines!  Right next to my favorite (King Estate Pinot Grigio, which they never used to carry) I saw five new wines from the Wilamette Valley, including this one from Duck Pond.  I’ve had three small glasses so far, and I think it’s very good – and the price was right at $11.99!

And dessert!  (It’s an indulgent kind of day, I guess.)

Oh, peppermint, how I love you!  Edy’s peppermint is a seasonal flavor that shows up in December, so I have to enjoy it while it lasts!  This was my first bowl of the season and it was delightful!

Now I’m finally getting around to watching Holiday Inn, one of my favorite Christmas movies.  I’m going to get back to the film – have a good night, everyone!

One Response

  1. I have been seeing that icecream all over the blogosphere! I think I may need to make a visit to the grocery store soon! Yummm….

Comments are closed.

