• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Tired Ten-Miler

My holiday party last night was lots of fun.  🙂  We played a funny gift swap game, and everyone’s “presents” turned out to be office supplies from the supply closet!  I “won” a package of sticky tack.  My jalapeno popper mini pizzas went over pretty well, too, but not so well that I didn’t have a few left to take home!

I was kind of not hungry, though.  I ended up eating a total of 3 mini pizzas (they are about 2 inches in diameter), two chocolate chip cookies, and a Rice Krispie treat.  I also had half a glass of chardonnay.

I went to bed late and woke up at 5:30 for my run feeling just yuck.  My throat was scratchy, my head was pounding, and I just felt out of it.  So, I grabbed some peanut butter toast, got dressed, and headed to Fleet Feet hoping for the best.

Run Stats:

  • Distance:  10.75 miles  (10 were on the schedule)
  • Time:  I forgot my watch, so I have no idea.  Somewhere around 2.5 hours.
  • Run 2/walk 1 until mile 8.  I felt really bad so my running partner was nice enough to walk the last 2+ miles with me!
  • Topics of discussion:  One of our group members’ upcoming wedding, school calendars, Tiger Woods, me being Dutch, our students, outfits for the Disney Princess Half Marathon, running strides, protein.  We really ran the gamut today!

I still just feel out of it, and my throat is kind of phlegm-y, although I am proud of myself for now having run ten miles TWICE!

I just ate some cinnamon Quaker Oatmeal Squares with Stonyfield strawberry yogurt, and I’m now going to ice my knees, take a shower, and go back to bed with a book.  🙂

Here’s hoping my health improves as the day goes on!

Any suggestions for staving off my illness?  My usual strategy is lots of rest and eating extra healthy.  Other ideas?

