• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Disappointing Food Day

Okay, remember the awesome snack that my Secret Santa left for me yesterday?  Well, he/she outdid himself/herself today and left me a wonderful, healthy snack today!  I didn’t eat it yet, though, so you’ll have to wait until tomorrow for a picture.  🙂  All I can say is – it’s a person who knows me well!

My day involved about 12 hours at work, so it truly wasn’t that exciting other than the madness leading up to our Winter Program.  My cheerleaders did an amazing job with their performance, and were extremely proud of themselves – as were their coaches!

Meals were somewhat erratic today.  Here’s what I consumed:

  • Breakfast:  Kitchen is full of dishes that need to be washed (waiting until tomorrow – I’m beat!) so I ran by Starbucks for a butter croissant and some tea.  The tea selection was a little low due to a change happening with tea at Starbucks, so I ordered vanilla roibos, which I’ve never had before.  I thought it tasted like cough syrup and drank about three sips.  Sad.
  • Morning snack:  Chocolate chip ZBar!
  • Lunch:  Leftover roasted potatoes, leftover carrots with sage, and two slice of toasted cinnamon bread.
  • Afternoon snack:  Donut from the staff room.  Don’t look at me like that.  It was awesome!  But gave me a headache.
  • Dinner #1:  Got a salad at Moe’s that involved lettuce, rice, steak, and cheese.  It was not very good – I prefer Chipotle, but there’s a Moe’s by my school.
  • Dinner #2:  Came home and threw some more roasted potatoes in the oven.  I cut these like french fries using my mandolin slicer so I am dipping them in ketchup.  Homemade fries taste much better than fast food, in my opinion.

So, between the tea and the random lunch and the disappointing Moe’s, my day was marked by food that wasn’t all that great.  I hope to rectify that tomorrow – I’m already planning a smoothie for breakfast.  (Why not add some more dishes to the pile, right?!)

I’m not doing a great job at eating “real meals” lately, but the main reason is that I’m trying to clean out the fridge before we go to Michigan for two weeks. The goal is to use up all the fruits and vegetables.  I have a huge container of pineapple sliced by the Husband which I think is going to school to be shared with the rest of the staff tomorrow!

I just did a P.M. peak performance yoga workout while my potatoes were in the oven.  Next on the agenda: a book and my bed.  🙂

Check in tomorrow to see the treat left by my Secret Santa today!

