• About Allison

    I am a 26-year-old married Michigan gal living in Sarasota, Florida. This blog is a chronicle of my journey toward a healthier lifestyle! I started running in January 2009 and began to change my eating habits in May 2009. Now, I am dedicated to training smart and eating right. Join me as I seek to balance running and eating healthy, local foods with my crazy work life and hilarious home life.

    Contact me: allisonisactive@gmail.com

  • Recent Posts

  • Older Posts

Fluttering Five-Miler

Good morning!  I’m finally back.  Thursday and Friday were completely jam-packed with preparations for the last day of school yesterday and my last Galloway group run of 2009 today.  I was making treats, buying gifts, and celebrating with my co-workers.  I got cards and little gifts for the two girls who run with me every week – for one of them, I bought  magnet that says, “Running is mental sport and we’re all insane,” and for the other, “I know I run like a girl – Try to keep up!”  I think I chose magnets that nicely suit their personalities.

Today’s Run

We had a short run scheduled for today – five miles.  As I’ve said before, my training plan alternates each week.  One Saturday, it adds a mile to our longest run, and the next, drops down to four or five miles.  For example, last week we ran ten; this week we ran five; and next week we’ll build up to eleven.  I credit this six-month plan of slowly building from four miles to fifteen with keeping me injury free!

I can’t give exact stats – Sue’s interval timer started acting wonky after about 15 minutes, so I started relying on my watch at that point but hadn’t started the timer until then.  It was a mess.  🙂  Then, our intervals were crazy because I’m bad at looking at my watch while talking!  What I can say is that we ran about 5 miles, pretty much run 2/walk 1, in about an hour.

To fuel before the run, I ate a slice of whole wheat toast with peanut butter.  Then, I came home and made low sodium bacon and hashbrowns that I sliced with my new mandolin slicer!

In other news…

I am leaving for Michigan at 3:00 A.M.!  Here’s my to do list:

  1. Shower
  2. Laundry
  3. Pack my clothes and Mike’s clothes (he is still in Gainesville!)
  4. Wash, dry, and put away dishes from the last two days
  5. Go to Publix, buy food for the car ride, and assemble food in cooler
  6. Pack my Jetta with clothes, food, and Christmas gifts
  7. Clean up my house; put away Christmas gifts from students (they went all out, I’m telling you!)
  8. Make a late lunch/early dinner
  9. Go to bed at 8:00 so I can get up at 2:00 A.M. for the drive!

3:00 A.M. is the perfect time to leave.  I’ll meet Mike in Gainesville at 6:00 A.M., switch to his car (it gets better mileage), and head out.  Then, we’re having lunch/dinner with my best friend Missy in Louisville and should be in Holland, Michigan by 10:00 at night!

I’ll be in the car until late Sunday night, so don’t expect an update until Monday.  I promise there will be a post about trying to eat healthy on an 18-hour car trip! That should be fun.

Travel safely this weekend, readers!

